The band I'm in has a drummer, bassist (me), lead guitarist, and rythm guitarist/lead singer. The one thing we're missing in our line-up right now is someone who can sing backing vocals. Now, i know this isn't essential to have, but we'd like to have it .

Our drummer can't sing for crap, and our lead guitarist is not interested in singing at all, and his voice is basically like mine anyways. Therefore, the band wants me to do the back-up vocals. Now, I have no experience in singing and my voice is not naturally great, so I was wondering...do you guys have any tips to sing backing vocals?
I'd say singing backup vocals is harder than lead in some ways. You have to be able to harmonize. So you have to practice that alot, its a confusing thing. But once you get that your set and you can do it without figuring it out first. But the good thing is tone isnt really that important. You wanna have a decent tone, but its not a huge deal if its lacking a bit. Personally i'd rather have a backup singer that had an amazing voice than a decent voice, but its not as neccessary.

Harmonies are generally in major and minor thirds. Theres other ones, but start there.
Quote by BigFatSandwich
it took you 15 consecutive hours of practice to realize that playing guitar makes you better at playing guitar. congratulations.

Quote by snowbert
SMOKE UN-DER WATER!!!

They can be tough, but if you're harmonizing, make sure you sing in tune. Out-of-tune harmonies blow.
WHY IS EVERYONE IN THE PIT A FUCKING METALCORE KID
it's super hard. when my mom sings harmony vocals, i can't even sing the lead vocals... ( )
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard
Quote by Kartman
They can be tough, but if you're harmonizing, make sure you sing in tune. Out-of-tune harmonies blow.

+1
Quote by Alex The Red