I just bought the ashdown MAG C410T-300 Combo and love it to peices, but everytime i play with my band and The Vu meter occasionally hit the red, My guitarest has a fit and tells my im gonna break my amp.
Were is the "safe zone" for the Vu meter and what is it actually measuring?

Im also planning on getting another MAG 115 Deep Cabinet to put in the Speaker output what with this affect with the VU meter?
Now, a question of etiquette - as I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
My VU needle not only went into the red, but it bought a condo and vacationed there.

I only had one problem ever, my head for some reason just shut off. I walked over, turned the switch off, then back on, and it continued to work fine. That was the only problem I ever had with my Mag 300.
-Fender Deluxe Active P-bass (60th anniversary)
-Peavey T-40 (1982)
-Hartke HA-3500
-Aguilar GS 2x12
-GK Backline 2x10
Yeh it said it measured the imput BUt im a noob to the subject and needed more info.
If you don't want the meter to go in the red, always keep your output level higher than your input level and watch your mids. Once you start pushing the output level pass the input level it will cause various levels of distortion and grit causing your meter to go into the red while this is going on and you have to much mids it will push into the red even more.
The instruction manual tells you that for optimum performance, you should have the needle dancing around the red line, it depends how hard you want to drive your preamp really but with a solid state you don't want to be driving it too hard.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Quote by indie-bassist