Alright, I'm new to UG and all, but here it goes:

I would like to start by saying that I am a newbie when it comes to playing. I have been playing guitar and bass for 1 year now and a slow learner, but that's not important:

Okay, I got this friend that is playing guitar. No, he lives the guitar. I mean, I don't want to brag or anything...but he IS extremely good at guitar. And I really do mean extremely good. He's the kind of guy that just gets music with no problem. He can look at the tab for some Hendrix/Satriani/etc and just play it right off. I remember one day when after gymclass, I told him that I had listened to Satrianis "Midnight" and asked if he could play it. He says no. The next day we meet up in the morning at school he brings a acoustic guitar and plays "Midnight" right off. He's simply put, amazing.

Now, to sum up the pre-situation stuff: 3 months ago he asks me to join his band, a serious band, recording with studio stuff and everything. He asks me to play bass. Audition, and I'm in. Practice 3 times minimum a week and most of the time 4-5 nights a week. It's a good band, with skilled musicians.

Blablabla, the situation:

After having made 5 songs with the band since I joined, I have noticed one thing: This friend of mine has the biggest music-ego I've ever seen. He brings all the riffs to practice, he tells everyone what to play and when to play it. He's even said to me that "it's my band". Don't get me wrong here, I mean, I admire him for being so dedicated and into the music and everything, he always brings new material and has a musical mind that's probably classified as genius.