i can't stand assholes who tell me people who play bass with a pick suck. there are certain sounds you just can't get if you're fingerpicking or whatever the hell you call it.
Fingerpicking > using a pick.

I'm a guitarist, but all my favourite bassists use fingerpicking. It looks cooler and sounds better (In my opinion. Don't get angry)
I agree, i can't stand bass elitists that look down on people who use a pick. When i first started to play bass i'll never forget the first bass elitist i taked to.

Him: so what can you play
me: *says some song he never heard off*
him: never heard of that
me: ok lemme play it *pulls out a pick*
him: you play with pick, ok *walks off*

i liked the pick better
IMO it sounds better. I don't play bass, but I can see, or hear rather, what you mean when you say you can't get certain sounds out of only fingerpicking.

2004 MIM Strat w/ Fender Hot Noiseless pickups
Sovtek MiG 60
Avatar 2x12 w/ Celestion Greenbacks
Snark Tuner
MXR Custom Comp
Fulltone Full-Drive 2
Dunlop JHM3 Univibe
TC electronic Nova Delay
TC electronic Arena Reverb
i prefer fingerpicking, as it is more versitale, but using a pick isn't necessarily bad. it has it's uses, i just don't think it should really be used as a main form.
Jesus for president. PM me to join the campaign. or just sig it.

Of course God has a sense of humor. Look at the Platypus...

Member #9 of the Trumpet Players' Alliance, PM E V H 5150 to inquire about joining.
idk who said playing with a pick sucks but it depends on what you're playing and like you said what sound you want to get. its good to learn both, i prefer fingerstyle tho because it gives the bass that nice smooth sound that i like.
I prefer finger picking, but Once in a while I use a pick.

There is a lot of difference, Finger style sounds more natural, but Pick you can get some punchy lines goin
Picking definently has more attack to it. I prefer fingers, however most of the music I play is heavy/death metal. Why not just learn both?