Hello All,

I'm going to order a Strat soon.I live in Europe and prices are sky high.
For half the price I can have the guitar made at a local luthier highly regarded as the most skilled in the country.Most artist here have at least one guitar made by him.

I would like to have him make an SRV - like stratocaster with floral inlays most likely (just a fixation of mine,though I'm not sure what it'll look like).So far so good.I would however need advice mainly on what pickups I should order.They must be Seymour Duncan,but which ones ? I have little experience with single coils,so I'm lost here.

Strat'll be mainly for playing blues,rock and hard rock.Think SRV,Clapton,Gilmour and then some Axel Rudi Pell hard rock for example.What would be a good choice of pickups ?

Also,before I face the man and discuss with him about the guitar,I'd like to gather more knowledge about how it should be built,materials and so on from experienced people frequenting this forum.

I'm not a professional player or anything,I'm not even a very technically proficient player but I'm workin' hard on that.I'd like this Strat to be the most beautiful and best sounding custom made guitar ever .

Thanks in advance.
well, SRV used texas special pickups if im not mistaken
My Gear
Line 6 Variax 600
Epiphone G-310
Ibanez RG350EX
81' Ibanez Blazer Bass

Line 6 Spider III 75
Line 6 POD X3 Live
Fender ToneMaster Mini
Boss DD-2 Delay
Boss CE-2 Chorus

My Band
Band MySpace!
Band UG Profile
Hm..it's possible.For sure none of the artists I mentioned there used SD pickups (or at least they do not appear in SD's site under the artists category).
The idea is I'm not trying to replicate the SRV-guitar to detail,I am going to play a variety of styles and pickup selection should fit those.
Where do you live and what's the luthier's name (and does he have a website)?
I'm interested too.
Quote by scottishmob