I really like jazz piano, and was wondering if anyone knew of any really good ones to listen to? I want to start listening more to them, but don't know of good ones in particular .
someone should make a thread called jazz penis then on the inside put i ment pianist
Quote by notsojoeyb4eva
Prove to her you won't shoot any real prostitutes. Bring one back, and show your mum how curteous and polite you can be with them.
Here's a huge mega list of jazz pianists: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jazz_pianists

My faves: Count Basie, Chick Corea, Duke Ellington, Bill Evans, Gil Evans, Red Garland, George Gershwin (specifically composition), Herbie Hancock, Wynton Kelly, Brad Mehldau, Charles Mingus, Thelonius Monk, Oscar Peterson, Michel Petrucciani, Jason Rebello, Hoorace Silver, Nina Simone, Art Tatum, Fats Waller, Josef Zawinul.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Kieth Jarret can be strange at times (certainly in personality idf not in playing) but there's some truly brilliant stuff to be heard from him - pick up The Koln Concert if nothing else

Oscar Peterson Trio (the one with Ed Thigpen and Ray Brown) does some of my personal favourite stuff; his collaborations with brilliant guitarists Barney Kessel, Herb Ellis and Joe Pass are worth picking up as is anything you can find with him and Ella.

Sunday at the Village Vanguard (Bill Evans) is a classic album that everybody should own; his albums Undercurrent and Intermodulation feature Jim Hall and are good for some repeated deep listening.

If you're looking for some real interesting sounds, look up Cecil Taylor. Approach it with an open mind.
I've always thought Bill Evans a nice place to start for some mellow jazz piano, the Vilage Vanguard album is fantastic, as Nick_ mentioned.