I got recruited by my school Jazz band to play bass. One of the music teachers knows I play the guitar a bit, so he asked me to try it out. I took the music home for a week and had it down in a couple days.

Yesterday I jammed with them and did great, until they moved on to another piece, which I had never seen before. They didn't have any music for me, just the conductor's score. They thought I could sight read, but I'm a pianist by trade, and (bass) guitar is just a hobby of mine. If I have the music a week beforehand I can play it by the time practise rolls around, and this is what I planned on doing.

Do you think this is alright? It's just a crappy school band (it's really not very good), I didn't think sight reading skills would be a requirement.
Quote by Godzilla1969
I love you, Muphin. You have great taste in music.

Quote by Pacifica112J
Muphin > You

The Cooperation
If it's anythign like my school band, we normally rattle off 2-3 pieces just doing some final adjustments on dynamics and phrasing and stuff, then work on one or two other pieces just getting them together. Because we change pieces a lot sight reading is essential, so seeing you know the notes on the staff presumably, just build up the memory between the music, the fretboard and your fingers.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Im taking a guitar class, and i have to do sight reading. honestly, i hate it. but id say its important, as schools seem to like teaching sight reading. and ibn a jazz ensemble, if its more than just a guitar, bass player, and a drummer, if theres horns, id think u have to learn it.
Maybe as a temporary solution ask the conductor for the pieces beforehand until you build up confidence in your sight reading?
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool