As the title suggests, I'm looking to buy some new gear.

All I have righ now is my acoustic guitar, which while I love isn't exactly made for the genre of music I play (metal.) I recently came upon a job, so money shouldn't be a problem toooo much, though I'd still not like to toss too much around.

I'm also a purest...which is bad to me.

So things I need:

New Amp!!

I have no clue what to get. I'm willing to spend up to $ 500 CDN on it. I'd prefer it was a tube, but I've heard that I should just get a combo amp since i'm a beginner. Again though, purist, so I thought of getting a cabinet and tube amp head...ya...that kinda cost alot. What should I do? I play mostly metal, classical metal such as Sabbath, 'Tallica, Megadeth all the way to heavier more custom stuff such as Opeth and riffs I write myself.

I'd like the amp to last a while, so it should be decently powerful, allowing for at least small venue play. And for effects, I have no idea what to do...so...

Effects!!

Should I get a processor, pedals, I really have no clue! Again, I don't want to spend TOO much as I'm new, but I'm willing to go up to a total of $ 200 CDN (if that's a good amount? I really don't know...but the way my budgeting works out I can't spend much more than that.) I'd like something with the basic effects like overdrive, but at the same time some weirder effects like phase and flange.

As for my guitar...I'm not decided. There's a lot of cool looking fun guitars jumping around in my mind and I cant decide. Gonna take some more trips to the store to pick. Chances are though, it's either going to be an Ibanez, Jackson, or Epiphone. I heard that the standard pups on those are pretty meh, so my purist kicked in and said go get some Seymour Duncans. I have no idea which ones to get though...

So thanks in advance if you read through all that ****.

Thanks again, Can

Decided to get an RG2EX1 (Whatever the black one is)
Last edited by CrushedCan at Oct 18, 2007,