So my friend's band is losing their bassist because he's moving, and my buddy asked me to take his spot. The problem is the fact that I play guitar. My friend thinks it would be an easy transition for me becasue I've only been playing guitar for about 2 years now, but I'm self-taught and I picked it up really quickly and I'm half-decent. So he thinks with a bit of work I could easily become just as good on bass. I love the idea and I'm willing to put a lot of work into it, but is it actually going to be a smooth transition? I'm supposed to meet the rest of the guys this weekend at one of their practices and try to pick up the bass there. I'm just wondering if some fellow UG-ers can provide some insight or some tips for me.

Also, is it acceptable to play bass with a pick or is that big bassist no-no?

Thanks guys!
it's sort of the opposite of guitar. a lot of guitarists start out playing with their fingers, then move on to a pick when they realize that it makes them suck. (not all bassists that use a pick suck, of course) a lot of guitarists that switch to bass start out using picks but then use their fingers when they get more advanced.
right, I'm gonna tell you the truth.

No matter how long you've been playing guitar, when you pick up that bass, you are playing a BASS. It requires completely different physical and musical skills.

Play however you want to. A pick is acceptable.

Just don't be one of those "oooh, I'm a guitarist, so bass will be easy."

And I'm not being an elitist bassist. I've played bass for 5 years and guitar for 3, so I did the reverse of what you're doing.
if you really wanna play bass, i say go for it, i was thinking about doing that myself, but i decided i prefered guitar
Gear:
Jackson DKMG Dinky (EMG 81/85)
Ibanez GIO (i put a Dimbucker in the bridge)
Crate GT65 (65 watts) to be upgraded soon, suggestions welcome (must be tubed)
Floor Pod (for sale)