I have been playing guitar for 6 months. I guess I can play okay; I understand a lot of the technical stuff involved with playing, cause I been playing violin for...going on 6 years or somethin to that effect. But, I'd eventually like to be able to play the really fast stuff and cool solos, like Ray Toro from mcr. (Don't flame me for my music choices k I LIKE MCR!) Anyways, I was wondering what's most important to practice and how often. I don't have a ridiciuolous (bad spelling ) amount of time between school and taekwondo and working so's I can afford an electric. Is scales more important or learning songs or a combo maybe? I love the guitar, I dream of performing for people. I would love to play professionally, and I'm too stubborn to listen to people's put- downs. Anyways, help is appriciated. I'm gonna go practie now.
Last edited by tkdfighter at Oct 18, 2007,
It's defenately a combination. Don't think of it as somthing you have to slave over, 30 mins - 1 hour of practice a day is ideal. If you can only work in a little less, that's fine too, just so long as you do it once a day in any context.

As far as practicing goes, try searching for other threads on this site, but I find it best to mix it up. Spend a day practicing scales, chords, and other such fundamentals, then spend an alternate day learning/practicing songs, riffs, and just generally having fun. If you've played violin for 6 years, then you already understand that it's going to to be a process. If you find yourself getting too flustered, set the guitar down and take a rest for a minute. Listen to some guitar tracks you absolutely love and remind yourself why you want to get better.