I'm really torn up between choosing between a Peavey Valve King Royal 8 and a Rocktron V50D. I've read a lot about the Royal 8, I might go try it out too at the local music store, but as for the v50d, i have no way of trying it out as most stores dont have it in stock.

I play mostly light rock, some alternative, and on the occasion, some blues, but my preference leans more close to rock. I also need a headphone line seeing as i live in an apartment, i can't even crank up my cheap ibanez starter amp past 5 without my parents telling me to turn it down, i've not even dared to crank it past 7 without headphones. (My poor ears.)

I've done a bit of research and here's the pro's and con's of each that' I've gathered.

Royal 8
+Tube
+Compact
+headphone jack
-5watts (but its tube)

v50D
+50watts
+headphone jack
+delay & chorus
-34lbs. (I'm only a frail 117lb kid)
-solid state

I'm also a noob when it comes to tubes seeing as I just got into guitar playing, but i've been listening enough to know that I have crappy tone coming from my amp. (It's a 15w starter amp for christ's sakes!)

I also practice on occasion with a drummer who's sane in enough to know not to hit hard and my 15watter hasn't had any trouble keeping up with him.
And please, don't try to recommend me anything other than the two. I've window shopped way too much to add more headache. Plus I'm on a strict budget.

This may be too long, but thanks for reading and helping me out.
Quote by keno190
I'm really torn up between choosing between a Peavey Valve King Royal 8 and a Rocktron V50D. I've read a lot about the Royal 8, I might go try it out too at the local music store, but as for the v50d, i have no way of trying it out as most stores dont have it in stock.