Hey guys im stuck in a rut....im not improving and im at a fairly intermediate level. I dont know what to learn, but i am mainly a rock and metal guitarist with a few dips in Metalcore. Can anyone suggest some excericizes or songs to improve my speed or technique cuz i want to play fast like trivium, steve vai, etc etc
play exercises with a metronome. but do it slowly.

make sure you're 100% accurate (can get it right every time, not just playing it copmletely right once) before increasing the tempo.

accuracy>speed because with accuracy comes speed.

search for steve vai's 10 hour workout on ug it's got tons of exercises that are good for improving technique.

also check out the advanced techniques forum. there are several threads on speedbuilding.
Rhythm in Jump. Dancing Close to You.

Quote by element4433
Yeah. people, like Lemoninfluence, are hypocrites and should have all their opinions invalidated from here on out.
Select a speed, and play at it. Even if you're sloppy, do it until you're fast enough to play cleanly at the tempo. I did it, but then I don't have the patience to start slow.
Like podcasts? Listen to these!
BEER!
VIDEO GAMES!
MOVIES/GEEKY SHIT!

Last edited by zappp : Today at 4:20 PM. Reason: Suck on my balls, UG
Quote by Colgate Total
Select a speed, and play at it. Even if you're sloppy, do it until you're fast enough to play cleanly at the tempo. I did it, but then I don't have the patience to start slow.

No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. And no. Do NOT do this. Learn difficult licks SLOWLY, at a speed you can play them absolutely perfectly, and play that until it's second nature. This will ingrain muscle memory, and will allow you to build up speed. Cutting corners does not exist on the guitar, you can't take a shortcut and expect it to pay off, you'll just realize that bad technique has slwoed you down even more.
ALWAYS

WANNA BE WITH YOU,
MAKE BELIEV
E WITH YOU,
AND L
IVE IN HARMONY, HARMONY,

OH, LOOVE!
haha trivium
yeah they're hella fast