I've been playing for about 3 or 4 months now, and am looking to finally upgrade my setup. I'm looking into getting the guitar first, and an amp about a month later. I would like to learn most genres for electric, so I am looking for a guitar/amp setup that can give me a lot of tones that are pretty good quality. The amp would have to be big enough to do a school talent show, also. As far as guitars are going, the only ones I have really looked into are a Fender Standard Stratocaster (the 400 dollar one) and a Schecter Damien 6 String. (350-ish) I haven't really looked into any specific amps either.
Any help on what guitar and amp to get would be great. OH, and I would like the price to be around 400 for each.

Thanks a lot guys, Dylan.

Can anyone give me an opinion on these amps?

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-Frontman-212R-100W-2x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp-481601-i1323510.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-Frontman-212R-100W-2x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp-481601-i1323510.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-FM-212DSP-100-Watt-2x12--Frontman-Combo-Amp-with-DSP-Effects-103858965-i1168503.gc
My Gear:

Schecter Tempest
Roland Cube 60
Boss DS-1
Vox V847A Wah
Last edited by Dillz18 at Oct 19, 2007,
Schecter all the way man

honestly if u want amazing tone, save up for a schecter C1.. those are like jesus but without long hair or the beard

as for the amp you gotta tell us more details about your hopes for its sound

eDit: 400th Post!