Hey I'm trying to write some riffs for my band but they all come out like substandard versions of other songs.

So how do you get ideas? Or how do famous bands get theirs (if you know)?

I'd really like to be able to write songs in the same vein of people like Alexisonfire, Thursday and glassJAw, but also maybe with elements of Protest The Hero or SiKth? Like kinda post-hardcore or metal.

So yeah, any things that help you write better music?
Last edited by Heavens_To_Hell at Oct 21, 2007,
I've found that things get better the more music theory I know, which I'm still learning, so if you don't know that stuff get into it.
I've come up with some good stuff simply by picking up the guitar whilst in a certain mood.
Just try picking up your guitar with your mind blank and play something original, if it sounds good, hurrah, if not, keep playing, you'll come up with something eventually.
Music theory just helps in that you'll know what sounds good with what and how to break the rules etc.
Metal Head

One Day, We'll All Go Into The Water.
Go, Into The Water, Live There, Die There.

Gear
Squier Stratocaster
Jackson Pro Series Kelly
Jackson Dinky Sustaniac
Roland Cube 60
Peavey Triple XXX Stack
I asked Daron Malakian from SOAD where he gets his ideas from.

He replied:
"Lots of crack, lots of playing, and not asking the pit."

Actually, it was just the first two...

...whuzzah?
Oh, right...personally, I draw inspiration.
But I can write anything like that.
{clicks fingers}
{realises its less dramatic over UG}

You are 1 of 3 people:

Ville Valo:
You take a year to write a song because you're 'drawing inspiration'.

Serj Tankian:
You write songs so often, you could wipe your ass with music sheets.

50 Cent:
Just your name earns you fans. Who cares if nobody can name one of your songs?

Oh, and then there's people who just suck...