Page 1 of 2
I've had my electric guitar for 2 days now and I've played it for 6 hours each day (even though it felt like 10 minutes) and i'm learning alot and i can play a couple cool riffs

My question is is it worth it to buy lessons? Tell me your opinion fron your experience
once your playing has leveled lessions can be worth it. i played for 4 years before i even thought about taking lessons. i learned by studying beginner books and writting my own songs. but if you dont have the motivation to play and learn everyday, then lessions would keep you on task and constantly learning.
Or you could subscribe to a guitar magazine like Total Guitar. It often include lessons from people like Herman Li (Dragonforce), Synyster Gates (Avenged Sevenfold), Paul Gilbert etc.
its always good to have a professional guitarist aiding u. so that u will be on the right track and also learning the right way.

most people who are self taught tend to learn the wrong way yea so if ure really into the guitar, i guess its a good thing
no, it's far more satisfying knowing you've had the patience and determination to learn an instrument youself rather than have your playing style influenced by somebody else telling you what to do, i've been playing around 8 months and my playing is just fine, i play for around an hour every night sometimes 2 hours. If you have the patience you will find it far more rewarding. The most satisfying thing however is knowing your a better guitarist than people who have been having lessons for like 3 years and still suck :p

good luck and do the right thing!
Quote by 3nemy