ok, so i'm a bit of a noob at this whole tube amp thing. on the back of my head it has a switch: one side is for (4)16 ohms and the other is for 8 ohms. i have it on (4)16.

So i plugged my speaker cable into my head and then into the speaker input jack on my cabinet. there are two of them, one that says 4 ohms and the other that says 16 ohms. So i plugged it in to the 16 ohm one and switched it to mono.

On my amp i switched standby from O to 1 and waited a couple of minutes and switched power on. Is this right? i got sound and everything from my amp, but when i put my hands near the tubes, it felt real hot. This may be a stupid question, but they're supposed to get pretty hot right?
Traynor YCV50 Blue
epi les paul w/ SD Alnico II pros
Dunlop Slash Wah
EH Deluxe Memory Boy
Moen Jimi Vibe
Danelectro Cool Cat Fuzz
Zvex Vexter Fuzz Factory
VHT 2x12 w/ V30's
i believe that its supposed to be warm at least. hot im not sure of but there should be some heat.
They give off a fair amount of heat. You did everything the way you should have done
cool thanks much
Traynor YCV50 Blue
epi les paul w/ SD Alnico II pros
Dunlop Slash Wah
EH Deluxe Memory Boy
Moen Jimi Vibe
Danelectro Cool Cat Fuzz
Zvex Vexter Fuzz Factory
VHT 2x12 w/ V30's
Quote by psychokiller99
ok, so i'm a bit of a noob at this whole tube amp thing. on the back of my head it has a switch: one side is for (4)16 ohms and the other is for 8 ohms. i have it on (4)16.

So i plugged my speaker cable into my head and then into the speaker input jack on my cabinet. there are two of them, one that says 4 ohms and the other that says 16 ohms. So i plugged it in to the 16 ohm one and switched it to mono.

On my amp i switched standby from O to 1 and waited a couple of minutes and switched power on. Is this right? i got sound and everything from my amp, but when i put my hands near the tubes, it felt real hot. This may be a stupid question, but they're supposed to get pretty hot right?