Hey everyone, I read the rules for posting in this forum so I hope this doesn't fall out of those..

I currently have an Epiphone Les Paul Studio which I play on a Crate GT212 amp. I've been playing for about 8 months, and am ready to move up to another guitar. I play a lot of stuff like Lamb of God, some Unearth when I can find 6 string tabs, DevilDriver, Slayer, etc. Basically, I play with a lot of distortion and try to sound as metal as possible.

I'm wondering what some of the more experienced players would recommend. I'm willing to spend between $500-$850. I really want active pickups, looking at EMG 81 in the bridge at the least - neck isn't so important to me(could even go without a neck at all). I could also get set of the Seymour Duncan Blackouts for fairly cheap, too if that made a big difference. Secondly, I really, really need a Floyd Rose or other Tremolo bridge. That is a big requirement for me, I need it to lock. I don't have a major body style preference, and the features and playability are more important than looks.

Amplifier recommendations would be great, considering the Marshall I was gonna buy is supposedly crap. I could pay between $500-$800 for an Amp as well.

Please let me know what models some of you would suggest that would suffice. I'm from the US, so if a guitar is only available in Europe, that won't help =(. Thanks in advance!
Last edited by rwalby9 at Oct 20, 2007,
Holy **** don't buy your friend's amp.

You'll thank me .
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
Is it bad? The Crate amp I have already gives me a bunch of noise when I turn it up past 3 or so on the solo channel, its a real pain.
Quote by FacingUsAll

You'll thank me .

+2432 for truth
SMALL CLONE of the EHX User's Guild

Quote by Ishiga
NOSOUPFORYOU.

Quote by Gurgle!Argh!