Hi, im new to the bass part of the forums here. ive been playing guitar now for 8 years and am now looking to play bass too. ive played a bass guitar about 3 times in my enitre life lol. im looking for a bass guitar and amp for at home play only, i dont really plan on gigging as a bassist just want to try another instrument. i would like a 4 string bass and a practice amp. my budget is $1000 for both amp and bass. i would like a better bass like u know sumthing not bottom of the line but dont want one way expensive either, something that i will be happy with and not need to replace anything or buy a new bass. and the amp is the same nuthin sh*tty but nothing expensive either. any help is appreciated. peace
XBLive Gamertag: ecdeluxe1000 send me friend requests (make sure u put UG in the message somewhere)
Hmmmm... Well, for the bass, I could recommend a hell of a lot of them. Any particular styles you like to play in particular?

Fender Jazz's work in a lot of situations.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.
Quote by Deliriumbassist
If you're only going to be a "hobby" bassist, why splash out a grand?

I highly agree with this... also, if you're only gonna play at home, I'm gonna go ahead and assume tone isn't going to have to be perfect with you, but nevertheless. I would recommend these:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Jazz-Bass?sku=516042
and
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Crate-BT50-Bass-Combo-Amp?sku=487805

I'm gonna go ahead and assume you have cables, so let your own preference guide you there.

Those together cost less than a grand and are both amazing in their own right!
Main Bass Rig:
Bass:
Dean Edge Q6 - 6 String with Active EMG-HZs

Amp:
Fender BXR 300C - 300 Watt combo

Pedals:
Boss GEB Bass Equalizer
Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi