Yup, basically, how do I do it? If I have tabs for a song and I know how many beats are in a measure, how do I know what makes one beat (quarter, eighth, etc.)?
Dumb question, but I'm not too good at some aspects of theory
Part of the Conan O'Brien is a genius group.
PM Garlik to join

Quote by X\Chazza/X

Anyway, long hair and a foreign accent, aren't you a hit with the laydeees?

Quote by CollinPlaysBass

Backstreet Boys > Beatles
generally you wing it. learn the rhythm by ear and use the tab for what you play.
Quote by the.spine.surfs

But really, asking the pit for relationship advice is like asking a girl with braces for a blowjob. Ouch.

Quote by Lil Macker
i first masterbated when i was... 10, i think
or was it 9...
yeah 10
and i'm catholic, don't tell the pope, i'll be holy watered
try Musician talk
Quote by darkstar2466

I love you.

Quote by rabidguitarist

Can I be your adopted parent? I'd love you like a real son.

"Arguing over the internet is like the special olympics. No matter who wins, your both still retards." - A man of many muffins
just tap it out. if there are 3(or a multiple of 3) beats per measure then its 3-3 timing. if there are 4(or a multiple of 4) beats per measure then its 4-4

EDIT....or mebe thats wrong... u still get the idea though
Last edited by chris_libby_88 at Oct 21, 2007,
4 quarter notes make a whole note.
1 2 3 4...
A quarter note divided by half is an eighth note!
1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &...
An eighth note divided by half is a sixteenth note!
And so on... You catch my drift?
uh.....1 2 3 4 5............ no that didnt fit, i'll try again............1...............2............3.......... nope not that.................1....................2............3............4............ thats it!
if you dont even know how to count in other times you probably don't listen to anything out of 4/4 time
gear

Fender Standard Tele (with kill-switch)
PRS SE Custom
Fender Hot Rod Deville
Boss DD-3 Delay
Boss GE-7 Eq
Boss DS-1 distortion