They seem pretty interesting, but I'm only a beginner really, so I was wondering what are the advantages?
You have one more bass string. That's it. I personally hate 7 strings. The necks are just way too fat.
Gear:
Jackson Pro Series DK2 Dinky (Eerie Dess Swirl)
Ibanez XPT700 Xiphos (Chameleon Red) =D

Crate FXT65 amp with 3-way foot switch
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah Pedal
u can play lower notes. so like u don't have to tune ur guitar down to a really low tuning and lose that top e string, just add another string, and u can play low notes while still having the opportunity to play really high notes
you can be t3h br00t4alz.

basically, you have the advantage of a 7th string...
OMG!!! They're playing One!!!!!11fade to black11one11

God & Founder of UG Electronics

Electronics God of the Laney Cult

My Gear:

Ibanez RG370DX
Laney VC30-212
Dunlop Crybaby
Boss CS-3
Ibanez TS9DX
Matt Heafy and Corey Bealieau use them to warm up for shows and used them for some of The Crusade's songs including the title track. Ever since I found that out, I've wanted one.
I have a 7 string. It was my seccond guitar, and my favourite for a long time. The advantage, over a 6 string, is simply extended harmonic reach, ie, you can play more notes. The disadvantage is that parts are harder to find, the neck is wider and takes getting used to, and they are slightly larger and heavier than a comparable six string. Try one out, see if it appeals to you.
U can go from playing a Mastodon song like Wolf is loose (full step down) to Iron Tusk(Drop A....no kidding) without changing guitars/tunings. I dont like 7 strings. But its a personal thing.
from a jazz standpoint, they make it far more possible to play a moving bass line under your chords or melody, and create many more harmonic possibilities. when used correctly, 7 strings are very impressive.

however, now everyone just associates them with bands like korn who just use them to play unnecessarily low.