can you guys tell me about the methods to slap bass, I find it easier to slap with my thumb pointing down to the ground but I see a lot of people using the thumbs up method.. which would you recommend?
I put my thumb along the string, however im a guitarist by nature so my opinion isn't a great one.
Professional Mixing available at request.

Everton FC
Yeah, if your way works for you, then use that method.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.
as long as you get the sound and the pop is accessible for you its however you feel most comfortable
My thumb is usually more or less parallel to the string. Just do whatever the hell you want.
Last.FM

Quote by Applehead
There are some things in life that are universally "good":

Sex, pizza, the smell of fresh washing and slap bass.
I'm either parallel to the string or pointing down. Though it's whatever works for you.
Quote by -February-Star-
Real bassists know about different techniques and are aware of the merits and applications of each.

Because we're the least ignorant, most hardworking and most talented musicians in the world. We also surpass all others in general awesomeness.
Slap would be where you hit the string with your thumb, or in rare cases you index and middle fingers, instead of plucking it. The string bounces of the frets or the fretboards and you get the most beautiful effect in the history of the world.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vdJvHE8qxA

That has some slap guitar.
how would you di it pointing your thumb down?
that seems like it would be undoable or EXTREMLY akward
unless im picturing it wrong

and vic wooten double thump, is that actually slap or a whole different techneque.....ive never been to sure on that

when Moses brought down the plagues upon Egypt one of them involved Behringer amps