I am having trouble narrowing it down. I am going to save up $1500 and split that between the guiat and amp. So I am looking for a guitar around $700-$800. I have read the stickies and found the recommended guitar but the trouble is I have no idea what they sound like. I am still fairly new to guitar but was to get more of a hip hop/rock sound. That is where I am having trouble which I will assume that sound will mostly come from the amp but I would still like a guitar that might fit well and which pickups/accessories to get to fit that sound.
they use guitar in hip-hop? I'm guessing it's a kind of a single-coily type sound?

what type of rock bands do you like?

what's your current rig?

Good call on splitting the cash that way, you wouldn't believe how many people come in here wanting to spend $3000 on a guitar so they can run it through a $50 starter amp... o_O

thanks for reading the stickies too...
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?