For some guitar chords, I see things like add9 or add11 or add13. Why don't you just use add2 add4 or add6 instead?
Because it's a 9, 11 and 13. Not a 2, 4 or 6.

Honestly, that's the only reason I know of.

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
Because usually the added intervals are greater than an octave from the root.
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin
Only looking at music as math and theory, is like only looking at the love of your life as flesh and bone.

Swinging to the rhythm of the New World Order,
Counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums
cause its easier to say for example G6 then Gadd6. Sus just sounds cooler for 2 and 4.

and ^ i agree. the adds are usually at least an octave above the root.
...Nothing you've ever...
...Planned on ever turned out...
...The way you planned...

...You're still disappointing them...
I really wish I had a good answer for this question, but I suppose I'll give it a shot anyway...

The most obvious reason is that compound intervals are simply better phrased as 9's than they are 2's. IT's certainly less dissonant to put an octave between the 1 and the 2, even though it's often done anyway to make them a multitude easier to play. However, it's not that simple.
In terms of the phrasing of chords intervals past 7 are considered less important than 7 and those before 7 because they are more definitive. If a chords consists of 1 3 5 b7 | 9 #11 (a lydian dominant, for those who are counting), the defining notes of the chord are, by far, the 1, the 3, the b7, and to a lesser extent, the 5. The 9 and the #11 are significantly less important to both the defenition and recognition of the chord; it is more important to define the chord as dominant than it is to define it as lydian.