Hello, I'm new to the UG forums and this is my first post:

I'm in the market for a new electric (I have an ancient hand-me-down student guitar - I've only been playing for ~5 months now) and I'm not sure which I should go with. As far as model I was thinking of a Highway One for a couple of reasons, the biggest of which is money.

I've been told Tele is for country only. Not that I won't play an occasional song by The Band, but that's not exactly what I'm looking for. I have also read reviews on Highway One Teles that say they are more than just country guitars.

As far as Strats go, EVERYBODY has one (or so it seems). I kind of want to be a little different, but I want to stick with a mainstream Fender guitar.

As for the type of music I play, I play a lot of Clapton, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Zeppelin, but also some Dire Straits, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, and eventually I want to play Stevie Ray Vaughan. I was thinking that a Strat (or maybe even a Fat Strat) would be best for that type kind of stuff, since most of the guitarists play Strats.

Can the Tele not handle that stuff? I've heard some damn good blues on a Tele. But I'm torn. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
"Let's not be too rough on our own ignorance. I mean, after all, it's the thing that makes America great." - Frank Zappa while on the Arsenio Hall Show

Quote by vintage x metal
On a side note, TS, love the username. I'd kill to be under you.
Quote by Thebridge
I've been told Tele is for country only. Not that I won't play an occasional song by The Band, but that's not exactly what I'm looking for. I have also read reviews on Highway One Teles that say they are more than just country guitars.

As far as Strats go, EVERYBODY has one (or so it seems). I kind of want to be a little different, but I want to stick with a mainstream Fender guitar.