sorry if this is in the wrong place, but i dont really give half a poo cos its close enough
i was wondering how u become a guitar teacher? is there a course u can take or something like that? specifically for nsw australia and dont tell me im too **** to do it cos i realise this fact and it is a burden i must bear for my the rest of my life
ty
It'd be easiest to get a job at a place like a music store if you can show them some qualifications that show you know what your doing, although you don't really need much qualification if you're just gonna put up a few flyers for home lessons or something. It really depends on what sort of scale you're wanting to do this on: as a way to make a few bucks on the side, or as a career...
I'm a guitar teacher yay!! i'm just teaching one of my mates brothers though He's 8 years old so he gets bored pretty easy, just started teaching him and doing stuff like basic chords and stuff at the moment.
Member of the Jackson RR24 Owners club!

Esp Eclipse II Snow white
Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RGA-8
Jackson RR24 Black w/yellow bevels, Limited 1/75
Yamaha FG-400A
Teaching is about much more than just being a good guitarist.

Of course you need have a certain amount of skill on the instrument, but it's even more important that you know how to inspire and motivate students, which is harder than you might think.

Another very important part, probably the most important, is that you know how to get information across.

Being a good teacher isn't something that comes natural with being a good player. Are you able to take a piece of information and present it to a student in a way they will understand it and at a tempo which is comfortable with them?

If you're just starting out, try to find a friend who wants to learn how to play the guitar. This will be a good way to get some experience and it will show whether you're good enough to teach.

Keep in mind people pay a lot of money for lessons, so they want quality.