So, when I went to GC to get my guitar, I was also shopping for an amp to an extent. The guy who was helping me had some, uh, interesting reccomendations.

First off, he wanted to try me out on a Marshall stack of some sort. which I thought was a bit much.

Told him I wanted a tube amp under $500. So, I was thinking a Fender Blues Jr. or a Crate of some sort, but was still open to suggestions.

So, this guy went immediately to two modeling amps. Some sort of Vox (which I gather is fairly decent, and actually exceeded what I was expecting from it), and the dreaded Line 6 Spider Valve (I'm not experienced with amps in the least, but something seemed off about the sound. didn't like it much.) told him I wasn't really interested in modeling amps, so we looked around the store some more.

Asked about the Crate Palominos, he said he'd had trouble with them. having to repair several of them and such. So I considered trying out a Blues Jr., but he tried to keep me away from that by commenting on the lack of effects loop. I told him I wasn't especially worried over that, and I think at that point he left to deal with other customers.

So, with the modeling amps.......do you think he genuinely thought I would've liked them, or was he just trying to meet his sales quota or something? And was I right to be so stubborn over not getting a modeling amp?

Good persistance for not leaving there with Spider. I commend you. Way to be stubborn. Did you like the Blues Jr?
Ben
Did you even try the modeling amps? and yeah, skip the Crates. Lame OD, nubm controls, and Made in China.
Skip the Line 6, a lot of the Voxs are actually hybrid amps and not full tube power.

Don't listen to what they say, usually they try to get you to buy a Line 6 or MG series Marshall.
My Gear
Ibanez SR520EX with EMG 81/85 and boost
Peavey Valveking Head w/ Crate Blue Voodoo Cab
Peavey VB-2
Spector Euro 4
Boss NS-2
Boss TU-2
Quote by CJRocker