Basically, my band consists(ed) of three people.

David: Guitar, Back-Up Vocals
Alex (Me): Bass, Lead Vocals
Moritz: Drums

David has yet to get guitar lessons, though he's been playing self taught for four years. We(Moritz and I)'ve been asking him to get lessons for over a year, and he still hasn't, although he's bought a 400$ and 600$ guitar in that time period. He's never had formal music theory/playing lessons, which he obviously needs to write music.

No matter, though. There's two things that I would like help with.

1.We've decided to tell him we no longer want him in our band, but don't know how to tell him without him getting angry.
2. Finding a second guitarist. Although guitarists grow on trees, we don't want someone who we can't get along with, and we're not exactly a big city.

Andy help would be greatly appreciated.
ok, yeah. my name is silly because I signed up when I was 13.

BEDBUGS
dude ur a bassist and a lead singer...u must be a tremondously large douchebag haha jkjk but just because the guy doesnt no music theory doesnt mean he cant write music i mean most of the greats didnt know that much theory..but you probably know the guy more than i do so to find a good guitarist just let your musical friends know you are looking for a guitarist and if your small town is like mine word will get around fast and people will start asking you if they can join.
Thanks for the post. I was almost sure no one would say anything. But about the douchebag thing... nice. I can take a burn once in a while. But just no I don't play pick. Haha.

But either way, what I was getting at is that he's just kind of lazy. And the part about the guitars really bugs me.

But thanks again, bro.

BEDBUGS
ya anytime and i can understand why the part about the guitars would bug you it bugs all of us. but for the other thing you wanted help with to kick him out of the band just be blunt and tell him hes a lazyass and then kick him out