in December I've been playing for 3 years.. and I can't solo.. I can't sweep.. my scales suck.. I can go ascending but not descending... my legato is weak at best.. songs that seem like they should come easy don't.. I'm not going to say I'm a bad guitarist cause I can play a pretty wide range of songs fairly decent.. any help?
more practise? It takes time.

I can do desending really good but I really can't ascend very well.
Quote by roythereaper
Nice bum >.> <.<
Try playing your scales slowly at first ascending then descending. The get faster and faster, if you start messing up slow back down.

You should also really look into a private tutor if you haven't already.

When you get pretty good at this play the scales as only hammer-ons and pull-offs.
Soon you will sit on the bench
of those who deny I have my soul
You sell a dream you create
Condemned by what you condemned before
Smooth are the words you sing down and high
Underground is your joy your laws
yeah I just figure after 3 years of practice I'd be able to do all that **** good.. and it's kind of discouraging to get on youtube and see people doing mad solos and playing eruption and having only played for a year.. should I switch instruments or do you think it will come?

also.. could it be the guitar itself that's slowing me down? cause I've an Epiphone SG and a Sammick V that I play
Well, it could just be because you don't practice enough. How often do you practice everyday? Make sure you're playing chromatics everytime you pick up the guitar to practice.

EDIT: I have an Epi SG and I do notice it's much easier when I play on my friends Ibanez RG. Also you try thinner strings. If you're using 10s I suggest switching to 9s.
Soon you will sit on the bench
of those who deny I have my soul
You sell a dream you create
Condemned by what you condemned before
Smooth are the words you sing down and high
Underground is your joy your laws
some people just have more natural talent than others