I am going to buy a new bass this Xmas and have around $400 to spend, might be able to reach $500, but that would be max. I am a beginner bass player with a cheap Rogue bass and want a better bass. I have no intentions of gigging or playing in public, so don't need a high end bass. I don't care for Fender or Squier style basses. I am partial to Schecter or Ibanez basses as far as looks because I like wood color basses, but nothing too flashy. I like EMG pups, but am open to others.

Knowing all this, what would you recommend?
My gear...

Samick Les Paul (AV6VB) Guitar w/ SD Alnico2/JB
Marshall AVT150H halfstack
Schecter Stiletto Elite-4 Bass
Ampeg BA112 Bass Amp
Take a look at some Yamaha basses.
The RBX374 perhaps, though i think they usually have a quite "flashy" finish.
Quote by sSyLc
Looking for a bj from an unsuspecting animal eh?
Member of The True Eccentric Tea Drinking Appreciation Preservation Society
Quote by denizenz
I came, I saw, I cleaned it up.
Last edited by Grönis at Oct 25, 2007,
i got a 5 string shecter stilleto deluxe for 400 on ebay that should arrive today
Quote by SeveralSpecies
How the f*ck are you gonna get a cat to bark?

---------------------------5------8-----7-
----------------5-------------------------
------------------1-3-3-------/6----/5----
-1/3--1-1h3-------------------------------

Matt Freeman>You
Dude do you have that rogue lx200b.. But i would recomend Schecter Stiletto Deluxe-4 Bass.
Schecter Stilettos, Ibanez SR series and definetely check out low-end Spectors. They have a nice wood finish as you said you liked, AND EMGs as standard. Check out Coheed & Cambria if you wanna hear the lovely Spector tone.

And here's a Spector in your price range: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Spector-Legend-Classic-4String-Bass?sku=517435

Disclaimer: I have never actually tried out a Spector before, I'm just going off the good reviews.
signature