Page 1 of 2
My budget for my first electric guitar is around $300-500, and after a ton of research I've finally narrowed my selection down to one guitar unless of course you guys suggest something else, which I would very much appreciate if you happen to know of anything.

Here is what I have decided on:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Stratocaster-Electric-Guitar?sku=516037

I absolutely am going to get it in black, no doubt about that--I love black guitars!

The problem is, I don't know whether to get the fretboard in maple or rosewood. This is a huge purchase for me so I don't want to make a mistake and regret it later on.

Personally I think the black guitar with maple fretboard doesn't look that great, but the maple does look good with other colors such as white.

Since I am determined to get the black guitar, which would you choose; maple or rosewood? I've heard that there is a slight difference in sound, quality, and some other things as well. I am a newb, so please help me out, lol.
It's mainly a matter of preference IMO, but some people think Maple is "twangier" and Rosewood is "mellower and smoother."
Quote by SloppyJoseph
It doesn't fit my playing style at all so I figured it would be good for me
Quote by TheReFiller
It's mainly a matter of preference IMO, but some people think Maple is "twangier" and Rosewood is "mellower and smoother."

That is interesting information. See, I am such a newb right now that I can't really tell the difference between the two--I've played them both, but I can't really tell.

Isn't the MIM strat kind of bright to begin with, so the rosewood would kind of balance things out or am I wrong?