hi guys i lately have been trying to do really fast,, trivium style, metal solo's however im having trouble with the really fast alternate picking!!! do any of you guys no anyway that i can get better at this?????

cheers dudes
Um, i'm no expert but i started to pick faster by achoring on the bridge instead of my pinky and holding my pick at 45 degrees to attack the string
practice a ****load. there's no secret to learning to alternate pick, just like any other technique.
Theres no magic trick to getting fast at alternate picking. Just practice with a metronome and work your way up.
Oh, those guys above are right, took me 5 months before i could pick somewhat fast.....
pick down...then pick up....then pick down again...then up!!! on a more serious note though, theres no real magic way, just keep practicing different patterns with a metronome (preferably patterns that use 3+ strings)
Alternate Picking 101

Step 1: Strum down
Step 2: Strum up

Repeat as necessary

Made by 'The Sloganizer' ----> «The Pit - be prepared.»

Quote by imdeth

"Billy eat your broccolli!"

"Screw you mom!" *raises arms*

PHEAR MA TURRETS!!
im kinda having the same problem...
like 2 months ago when i wanted to learn black star, i had never used true alternate picking...
and then i just wanked for a long time, until i could hit the notes individually, not just crazily picking...and im still having trouble with switching strings yet...
Keep determined...thats what i need to do, lol
Gear:
Ibanez RG550 20th RFR
Traynor YCV50
Fender FMT HH Tele
Mesa Boogie 2ch Triple Rectifier
2 1x12 custom Theile cabs
ISP Decimator
Krank Kranshaft
Boss BF-2 Flanger
BBE Sonic Maximizer
I just checked. The heel of my palm rests on the top edge of my bridge and humbucker on my HSS Strat, and acts as the fulcrum.
American HM Strat | LP Studio
Soldano Avenger w/DeYoung OT | Mark IV rackmount | DC-3 rackmount | Single-Recto