Page 1 of 2
Hey, I've been playing guitar for a few years and I have a burning question. Are there any guitars built a bit larger for people with huge fingers? I am 6'5 and 180 pound, and my fingers are just too large for a lot of conventional playing. I'm fine playing bass, but with guitar I can't play certain chords because my fingers are too big. Thanks for the help. By the way, if it helps I play a lot of 80s post-punk and alternative.
Stevie Ray Vaughan's guitar signatures should do the trick...but they are pricey.
Last edited by Fast_Fingers at Oct 27, 2007,
Use fatter srings. By your description, you're using light gagues like .9 or .10 Aim for .12 or .13
Find guitars with wider fretboards
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
Guys, he has big hands. He needs a bigger neck, not thicker strings.

Try baritone guitars. They have longer scale lengths, and their frets are further apart.

Also, I've heard some BC riches have very wide necks, and they suck a bit less today than a few years ago.

And try classical guitars, too.
Get a guitar with:

-an extended scale (like a baritone)

or

-a fat neck (like a Les Paul)

or

-an extended range instrument like a 7 or 8 string (Ibanez RG1527, Rg2228)

A nice combination of heavy strings and a fat neck would be the afore mentioned SRV signature.
You've read it, you can't un-read it!
*ahem*

Bass guitars.
Quote by Demonikk
+1
I live by the method: 3 or less orange warning labels, and it's safe as a kitten

Quote by Charlatan_001
EDIT: Sammcl pretty much got it dead on.
ibanez wizard 3 just kidding

now is it a case of the neck being too narrow, or are the frets too small?
Quote by Kutanmoogle
Now introducing Megabreth, Dave Mustaine's signature Tic-Tac!

Member of the ENGL Family

Gear:

Hamer Vector
OLP John Petrucci
ENGL Thunder 50
EHX Holy Grail