Well, I've been playing Bass for about 6 months. I know it's not that long, but I've definitely got the basics down and can handle some tough basslines. I play with both a pick and I use my fingers. I've been playing drums for over a year and i can keep time really accurately, i usually play metalcore songs on drums just for the heck of it :P.

Anyways, I want to try my hand at guitar. I really like punk music (Pennywise, Bad Religion, etc.) And I've got a few questions:

- I want to play electric guitar, but do you think I should start with an acoustic?

- If I practiced for about an hour per day, how long do you think it would take before I'd be able to play decently in punk?

- I play lefty, but I don't really have much money for lessons. Do you think one of those book on how to play guitar would help me, even if I am lefty?

- If I have lessons, do you think I'll b able to learn guitar faster than if I was self-taught? (I'd probably take lessons where my friend took them, it took him about a year to get pretty good)

Thanks in advance!
1) It's ok to start start with Electric, in my opinion
2) It wouldn't take very long since most punk is easy.
3) From my experience the best way to learn is by looking up tabs and playing songs you like.
4) You would probably learn faster with lessons because it's always easier when there is someone explaining to you what you should do.
well.
most bad religion songs are extremely easy.
since you've got the fretboard down on bass,
you probably could teach yourself to play alot of the punk stuff.
hell,
my drummer has never picked up a guitar in his life.
and i taught him to play some bad religion songs in a few hours.
you should be fine without lessons.
Honestly, if you wanna play electric, don't bother with an accoustic. I tried that route, & mine's gathering dust on the corner, because I was so much happier with the electric than my accoustic.