okay, ive been playing guitar for about 2 years now... i do a lot of recording and i wanted to learn to play bass... i played on my friends and i can play a lot of different stuff on it from playing guitar for 2 yrs but my question is : What techniques does a bass guitar have, that a guitar doesn't?..... for instance finger picking a bass and that stuff.. what do i need to be learning?

btw i play 80s thrash and death metal (megadeth, metallica, testament, slayer, death, morbid angel, etc.)
well, technically anything you do on a bass can be done on a guitar. But slapping is much more common on bass(and imo sounds better on bass) I believe it's more of a difference in musicality than technique. Basslines should sound like basslines not guitar riffs, most of the time anyway. but anyways:

Fingerstyle is different of course,
Slap and pop is good to learn,
And also two-handed tapping is a bit different i think. Try out Stu Hamm - Moonlight sonata

Even though the stu hamm isn't really your kind of thing it's still a good example of what i mean.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
cool ty Revelation... i mean i know about harmonics, hammer ons and pull offs, sweep picking, bending, chords, double stops, etc... all the basic techniques on guitar, plus i know some theory... just making sure it was the same on a bass.. i just thought bass might have a lot of new techniques (like slap and pop thing) and stuff..
There's also this thing called double thumping that is related to slap. Victor Wooten does it but i can't really explain it. I know it involves your thumb though.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2