I've been playing guitar since last christmas now and ive really started getting into it. I've gotten pretty decent and spend most of my freetime (although i dont have much) playing my guitar. For my birthday a couple of months ago, i got a pedal effect processor (Digitech rp250) unfortunately ive heard some things about how Digitechs sounds and equipment is 2nd rate and cheap compared to many other products (although it did cost $250) i planning on pursueing some sort of musical career as i get older, as im in the school band and have played the piano for 8 years. Im just wondering if my Digitech processor is holding me bak and i should putting my money into buying individual pedals to create pedalboard( and if so where do i start?). Dont get me wrong im still a noob to guitar and would be very thankful for any advice!
MY GEAR:
Fender Strat
Digitech RP250
Squier sp10 amp
Well, so far your gear is ****. Dont take that the wrong way, mine was a hell of a lot worse when I started. and it still is 4 years later, I still own a squier strat but thats my prob.
Anyway, its not going to hold you back, its just going to be of less use as you get better amps. Yes, you should buy individual pedals, personally I would start of with a wah-wah pedal, I have no doubt that in my opinion a wah pedal could be the only thing you need in a effects chain. But whatever there is no real 'order' in which you buy effects pedals, more of just what you want.
"Guitarmen, wake up and pluck wire for sound, let 'em hear you play"
-Charlie Christian
"You have to give people something to dream on"
-Jimi Hendrix
"I try to make any guitar do what I want it to do"
-Slash