Page 1 of 2
Recently my friend asked me what grade of guitar I was
How do you find out what grade you are? Ive never done music education at school or what, I'm self taught all the way, my theory is pretty good now and my guitar abilities and technique are also average now.

Anyone know any sites that can tell ?
|-----| Gear |-----|

Ibanez RG(cnt remember)
Marshall MG30DFX
Line 6 Guitar Port

YOUTUBE PR0NZZ
wtf? grade? he probably refers to grade in music schools, theres no such grade to evaluate a guitarists skills
^Yes there is.

It's the same thing, only it does cover plenty of theory as well as the actual practice of playing the guitar.

There are books for each grade. You could buy or borrow one and see how much of it youre already familiar with.
There are guitar exams, (going from grade 1-8) which you can take to show your ability on the guitar. I'm taking one in february at grade 4, and this'll be my first exam. I didn't start on grade 1, 2 etc because I thought it was pointless since I knew all of it and I need grade 4 to get into this certain college to do Music Technology.

In the UK, some of the main ones are the Rock School and RGT.

Hope that helps
i don t have the money thats why i asked if there were any sites
|-----| Gear |-----|

Ibanez RG(cnt remember)
Marshall MG30DFX
Line 6 Guitar Port

YOUTUBE PR0NZZ
Yeh, you will have to pay to have an exam.

About £30 I think on average for an exam.

It goes up the higher the grade your going for.

If you have a guitar teacher, he might be able to set you up with a "pratice" exam between the two of you. That'd give you a rough estimate.

Edit; oh yeah, you're self taught. erm... carry on.
Last edited by Tomaz24 at Oct 29, 2007,
dont waste money on ****ty exams to prove to other guys how tough you are, youd better find a good teacher if you really want to improve your guitar skills

Edit: as i said before these grades means nothing in REAL life
Rofl you are so misinformed dude.