Ok so I have an Nvidia GeForce 7600GS Graphics card on my x16 PcI Express Slot.
I am wondering if I can add in another graphics card? to have 2..I'm not sure what this will do but I love the new 8800 Gt series because it is so cheap..Any Ideas?
It is SLI ready although I am very new at this since I just built my computer.
Quote by bajeda
congrats, you made me chuckle at your stupidity.

Seinfeld Club
Quote by sadistic_monkey
For SLI, the cards have to be exactly the same. You'd notice a big difference just swapping the cards though.

Ok so putting in the new 8800 GT is worth it?
How good is my card compared to it. Also to put in the card is there going to be any noticeable driver updating stuff like that that will make me go nuts? (reinstalling xp)
Quote by bajeda

Seinfeld Club
8800 GT can handle anything out now a days very comfortable at some stupid resoloutions (1600x1200+) with all options on.

You wont need to reinstall XP just uninstall the old drivers and get the most up to date ones from the Nvidia website or from a 3rd party liek DNA or Omega drivers
If you want an 8800, I'd recommend saving up a bit more and getting a GTX card, it'll keep you going for longer due to the increased performance, at least until a few years into DX10.

If you want to stick to your current card and go SLi, make sure you get the exact same card. SLi'd 7600s should be a much cheaper, yet still somewhat decent alternative to an 8800, just don't expect to be at the forefront of new software after a year or two.
Quote by Felkara
Dude, you just made the most intelligent post in this entire thread. Congrats.
so the more resourceful option and better solution would be to just get the 8800 swapping mine.. also how does the 7600 run for games like starcraft 2, call of duty, spore, etc.
Quote by bajeda

Seinfeld Club
Quote by Chromeproguitar