i play guitar by myself and when i play a song in tabs or chord it doesn't sound anything similar to the music i heard for that song. Am i playing something wrong I'm playing an acoustic guitar. For example i played smells like teen spirit by nirvana (i tried I'm not good at guitars yet) when i play it it doesn't sound like the beginning of the song. And when i played an acoustic song tears in heaven by Eric Clapton (chord) it doesn't sound like the beginning BUT maybe this guy chorded it wrong. I also played the mom song by Beatles and i also heard the song before playing and doesn't match. I play at a beginner's pace.

any1 experience this when they started out?
ummm the song may be in a different tuning.. YOU may be in a different tuning.. youre playing the wrong chords.. the bands playing the wrong chords.. al qaeda.. maybe youre not giving yourself enough credit
Are you reading the tab correctly? I've met many people that when learning to play read tab incorrectly.

Tab has six lines, which represent the six strings on a guitar. However, the direction is reversed. Meaning the bottom line on the tab is your low E string (the fat string on the top of your guitar) and vice versa. The top line in tab, or high E, is the bottom string on your guitar.
Epiphone Les Paul
T. Haruo Acoustic
Fender MusicMan 210 (130w)
Quote by Extraordinairy
i play guitar by myself and when i play a song in tabs or chord it doesn't sound anything similar to the music i heard for that song. Am i playing something wrong I'm playing an acoustic guitar. For example i played smells like teen spirit by nirvana (i tried I'm not good at guitars yet) when i play it it doesn't sound like the beginning of the song. And when i played an acoustic song tears in heaven by Eric Clapton (chord) it doesn't sound like the beginning BUT maybe this guy chorded it wrong. I also played the mom song by Beatles and i also heard the song before playing and doesn't match. I play at a beginner's pace.