i just got a acoustic guitar a couple days ago, so yesterday i messed around some with it, maybe total an hour or so of playing throughout the day maybe 2 at the most. today i got my guitar out gonna pratice some more and which i knew my fingertips would get sore till callouse builds up, but when i try to make the C chord my first finger is sore when i bend it to get it in position, its either the knuckle in the middle of the finger or between that knuckle and the other one at the tip of the finger. is this normal? so far out of the 3 chords i've been playing C, G, D it only hurts when i try C and when i just curl my fingers like making a fist, it hurts. it don't hurt so bad that i can't curl my finger, but it does hurt. i was just wondering if this is normal when learning or is it something more serious?

thanks
its different with everybody...my fingers hurt alot when i started playing accoustic...but my fingers got used to doing the chords so...ya...dont know what to tell ya
Is this the first guitar you've ever played, or did you used to play electric before? When I first started playing guitar, it was on an acoustic, and I could only practice for about 15 minutes at a time, and when I started learning barre chords my hand would hurt even more. I found that after practicing for around 15 minutes or so, just holding, or transitioning between, chords that running my left hand under some cold water for a minutes really helped. Just an idea, it worked OK for me, but the pain is definitely not going to go away until you build up some hand strength and calluses. Also, if you are new to guitar, make extra sure that you're positioning your wrist and fingers correctly; guitar teachers are always talking about how improper form can really strain the muscles in your hand.
Good Luck!
Last edited by Kentris.5 at Oct 30, 2007,