Right, i've been playing guitar for almost 2 years now, and consider myself to be fairly good. I can play some complex(ish,very ish) stuff, mainly by Coheed and Cambria, some System of a Down, Mastodon, Bullet for My Valentine, Rage Against the Machine, etc.

This has probably been asked countless times before, but how do you progress from fairly average playing to pulling off Iron Maiden solos? I know my pentatonics, believe me, but what kind of exercises and periods of time does it take to eventually pull off high speed riffs and solos? Not aiming for light speed shredding here, but lots of songs I still wanna learn (i.e Protest the Hero stuff, definitely!) requires some good finger work. I'm not expecting it to happen overnight, but still wanna know how to get there as efficiently as possible.
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." -Benjamin Franklin
soad isnt anywere near complex for 1 lol i wud no i can play every one of ther songs
n iron maiden solos r easy after alot of practicing them
i got the trooper solo down after goin over it overrr n overrr
n now ive gone from soad to playin more "complex" stuff like children of bodom n i no half of canon rock=) i need to practice my sweeps n stuff its all practice omg lol
i only no 2 scales n i can play iron maiden solos its not necesaty but definatly good to no
ive been playin a 1 n a half n i can play are you dead yet by children of bodom expect the solo whichim workin on dunno if im doin good progress
Quote by Allnightmask22

Alternatively, have your friends hold him down, then take a dump in his mouth, make sure your genitals don't touch him though, that's gay.

Quote by RageAgainst...
Teddy-Metal
for those who like to mosh, but just wanna cuddle afterwards

smashing pumkins fans=)^