I want to do a music course in college next year and it is required that you are grade 5 on at least one instrument, I should be about grade 3 on the drums at that point since I am taking lessons but I want my grade 5 to be on bass. Im a self taught bassist and I probobly don't know as much of the theory as I should. Im going to look into getting a teacher but do you guys have any further advice?
the bass key would be a problem to you i guess
Quote by Moggan13
Serjem is like a Bishops testicals: Swollen
ಠ_ಠ
IIIIfb * KARKOLI * ytIIII(mostly rock... a little funky, a little hard just the way you want it )
Quote by Serjem
the bass key would be a problem to you i guess

If you mean reading music in the bass clef, I'm able to do that although I am slow at reading :P.
well.. i play trombone..(bass) for the 2nd year now... but i've been playing flute for a long time... (like 9 years of musical education) it took like 2 weeks for me to read sheets with a deacent speed

go for it i say... but practice a lot.. and i mean it.. a lot :P
Quote by Moggan13
Serjem is like a Bishops testicals: Swollen
ಠ_ಠ
IIIIfb * KARKOLI * ytIIII(mostly rock... a little funky, a little hard just the way you want it )
www.musictheory.net

Study that, and play and practice like a beast.

Less worrying, more playing, that's what got me into music A Level from the same situation
Thanks for reading
at my school (penn state university) we have intro classes for people that have never picked up an instrument... check for that, it may be simple but it will probably help
Thanks for the advice, can anyone reccomend any good grade 5 books? You know the ones where you pick 2 peices and play them to a backing track on the CD?
I presume you're in the UK, so look out for a Rockschool grade 5 book, which looks like so:
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Quote by sinan90