I've been playing electric for a few years and I want to get an acoustic-electric. I am looking for something under $300 with a cut-out that sounds good both plugged and unplugged. I've heard that buying an acoustic and putting in a pickup works good but I don't want to do that. I want to buy a guitar and have it ready to go. I was just looking for some suggestions on models to try out so any information you have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Ovations sound great plugged in, but I'm not that crazy abou the necks. That's kind of a personal thing though--it might strike you differently. Give them a try.
Quote by chipsahoy
You don't like the smell of some other guy's poop? Hmmm...smells like home to me.
he said hes after something under $300 and ur saying ovations sound great?

acoustic/semi acoustics are really hard to tell u becus some people go sperficial and buy the best guitar out there. i'd say look at what u can get tonal wise, u may find something whihc is as cheap as chips but sound awesome, or at least the sound your after.

going for semi acoustics with cuts will limit your range, but i found myself a maton em325c and its kickass. i think i got it around $1200AUS with a case
ive got an ovation celebrity, sounds pretty good plugged and unplugged. it was around 300.
CAN I GET A +1?!
yeah the good ones are out of your price range.

And the reason that it is often said around here that adding a pickup works well is because it does.
Your not going tog et a decent Acoustic-Electric from a manufacturer for $300.
Cheapest I would go for an A-E is the Alvarez AD60SC
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Alvarez-Artist-Series-AD60SC-Dreadnought-AcousticElectric-Cutaway?sku=518739

its about $100 above your limit, you would probably be able to get it a little cheaper.
Theres also a takamine for a similar price which is good.