I've been surfing around thinking about buying a new electric, and I like the Jackson styles alot, particularly the V's. Can anyone give me some insight on Jackson guitars? I've been playing for a while, but I'm not very experienced with different brands and all yet.
Thanks
Tempus Edux Rerum Sic Transit Gloria Mundi

Check out my band, Prosper! Prog/Metal/Core from Columbus, Ohio.
Jackson/Charvel is THE maker of Super strats, and the radical Gisbon-influenced King V, Randy Rhoads V, and Kelly, along with the BCRich-like Warrior. The Jackson brand was born when Randy Rhoads designed his Concorde guitar, but Grover Jackson thought it was too radical for the Charvel name, and put his own name on it. They have a very good rep. What model King V are you looking at? In general, while the X series are built well, they use basswood and lower quality trems.
I luv some Rhodes Vs, and King Vs are pretty cool. But most of their guitars are pretty high priced.
CJ Rocker's right - avoid basswood. You want Mahogany.

Alternatively, try ESP - they're real similar to Jacksons.
JACKSON RR3 is on the way for e but i have to replace the trem (case its licensed) and the pickups (for the greatness of EMG!!!) they are really good for any extreme of metal and also soft stuff... good all round i say...!

\m/

Origionaly Posted by CTFOD
Origionaly Posted by hownowbrowncow:
Get a new bicycle
Then you can ride it with no handlebars.

No handlebars.

No handlebars...
Quote by postmortem2006
CJ Rocker's right - avoid basswood. You want Mahogany.

Alternatively, try ESP - they're real similar to Jacksons.

Yeah ESP makes a nice V like the Jackson V. I wouldn't say Mahogany is a must though. However, the ESP/LTD quality is quite up with the Jackson X series, but they do have better hardware and pickups stock.