I've been playing for about 2 months now, I got lessons and I have one a week for about 7 weeks now. I can do a few scales and a few simple songs that my teacher has given me. However whenever I try to learn a tab, everything I play sounds nothing like the song, even after I practice. I have an acoustic and electric guitar, and songs dont sound right on either of them. THey are both tuned, and I think its cause I suck. help?
Suckiness is a definition of charector, and how you paly defines who yo uare in this musical world. Your songs probably sound like that because they were innappropriately brought into this world by amateur tabbists who decided to write the tabs, as we call it, "For The Lulz". Just look for a more popular song and see if it sounds alright. If it doesn't, then something may be wrong with your playing style.

Either that, or your guitar has AIDS.
(/sarcasm)
Play the man, Master Ridley; we shall this day light such a candle, by God's grace, in England, as I trust shall never be put out.
Maybe its not you that sucks, but maybe its the tab you're reading possibly. When you look at the list of tabs for a particular song, you'll see a rating next to it. 1 to 5, 1 being the lowest and 5 being the highest. Go for the highest rated tab. Or maybe the songs you're trying to learn are out of your skill level. Also try working on you're timing. Using a metronome improves that.
1. buy a metronome, that may be the problem
2. try to play along with the songs
3. find a new teacher, it might be his teaching approach.
♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪♫♪♪

Quote by Rune Playaz
I vote thycrusader for 'The guy who hit the nail on the head'

Quote by Emilyyy.
thycrusader = Thigh_Crusader
im completely self taught. i do fine. time and effort is all that matters. practice the same things for hours on end, then try something new, and practice that for hours on end. youll be good in no time :]
Quote by superlaxstar112