I have always been a fan of the sound of slap bass techniques, and I was wondering of using it in metal (being in extreme metal stylings more so then other stylings of metal) Anyone have examples if its been used well? Whether its just brief, or the bassist of the band uses it as a main technique. Also, others thoughts and opinions of this little pondering?
im a guitarist, but i think it sounds really cool. i think more metal bassists should play slap parts.
**RIP In the Van on the Comeback Road**

Quote by confusius
You're going to have to go to the doctor. He is going to ram his finger up your ass and the rest you can imagine. It will be severly painful you are most likely to die in the process. Enjoy.
Quote by aleckillscobra
im a guitarist, but i think it sounds really cool. i think more metal bassists should play slap parts.

lol its a bit harder than it looks
check out otep, god are they bad but he uses it. the human abstract as well only bands that come close to metal i can think of that use it.
Last edited by burn the stars at Nov 1, 2007,
Eh...Korn, Mudvayne?
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
Wow, are the only bands that have thought of doing this nu-metal bands? thats lame. Oh well, maybe with time, some form of change will be brought into death metal and black metal in the form of slap bass! Personally, i think that could sounds insanely good if done well. I also fear it being done too much and having bad bands that make it sound really bad, but that seems like a good trade off to me if there were even a few good metal bands that incorperated slap bass into their style, while also still being very metal.

***edit***
spoke too soon i think, Atheist? From the few songs of theirs ive herd, i like them. Any good songs to show an example?
"Sacrifice Unto Sebek"
Get baked, study theory.

Quote by :-D
Why are you bringing Cm into this?
Quote by metal Lover

Steve Digiorgio bands