So I've been playing the guitar (6 string) for a couple of years and I decided I want to try something new. I've decided I might want to try out playing bass guitar. It looks cool, sounds cool, and everyone says it's a lot more fun than regular guitar.

So anyway, I was looking for a Bass+amp together that would be good for starters and will last into the intermediate stage (if I get good enough). My price range is around $500 for the two. I am also quite fond of the epiphone thunderbird body style.

Any suggestions?
Quote by pedalguy1
are you playing in a band or just playing for the sake of playing?

just jammin'
Do not buy a thunderbird, slap yourself for even suggesting it.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Quote by indie-bassist

Oh god no i would never buy one, i just like that body style.
well if amp size and volume isn't going to be a factor, maybe just get a practice amp that sounds good and put more money into your instument.
Quote by SeveralSpecies

Ok, that's alright then.

Some clue as to what style of music you play would be nice. But without that knowledge, I would say go for a Squier Vintage Modified Precision or Jazz bass and look at Ashdown and Laney for amps.

Also can I just point out, there are hundreds of threads made by people in exactly the same situation as you, giving the search bar a chance wouldn't do any harm.
Quote by Bumper

Quote by pedalguy1
well if amp size and volume isn't going to be a factor, maybe just get a practice amp that sounds good and put more money into your instument.

yea Ill probably do that. Like spend 350 on the bass and 150 on the amp+accessories.
Quote by noahray
P bass

If you keep on posting that it's not going to encourage him to get a Precision bass, it's just going to annoy him.
Quote by Bumper

Quote by indie-bassist