Hey there UG-ers.

I've been playing guitar for nearly 2 years now, and I'm fairly average.

My favourite style of music is Rock and Blues. With influences like Led Zeppelin, Joe Bonamassa, SRV, Clapton, Hendrix, etc.

So I want to get into playing some good ol' blues. I'm tired of my generation being shredders and I like playing with soul, so blues seems to be the way to go for me.

So can you please suggests some basic blues songs to learn? Stuff that aren't difficult, but challenging enough?

Thanks in advance!
Check out the first solo to Crossroads by Cream. Also Purple haze and Fire by Hendrix are fairly easy.
If you want blues rock, this might not be the best forum, but is still all right, you might wanna try the classic rock forum.

For older blues, (delta + chicago) try Blind Willie McTell, Son House, Robert Johnson, Blind Willie Johnson(great slide player), Lightnin' Hopkins, Howlin' Wolf.
And for some newer stuff, The Soledad Brothers, Bob Dylan, and The David Viner Band.
i would suggest learning how a 12 bar blues is played out, and then just learning the good old blues scale (if you dont already know it). Learning to improv and jam will help you to look at virtually any blues song and go "oh! I know whats going on here!"
"Blues is what you got when everything else is
gone." - J.Lansdowne
Yeah I know the 12 bar blues. Have you got any examples for it?

Im currently learning scales etc, especially the blues one. As im fairly average, improvising is really difficult. I always end up tapping somehow!
Quote by boreamor
Yeah I know the 12 bar blues. Have you got any examples for it?

Im currently learning scales etc, especially the blues one. As im fairly average, improvising is really difficult. I always end up tapping somehow!