I recently bought a Johnson Catalyst for about 350 from my music store up the street and i needed help from all you people at ultimate guitar. Let's face it, i'm a beginner, well when it come's to tech stuff, i've always just played and had fun but my amp just isnt cutting it. So i wanted some help. I want to know what i should look for when i buy my new amp, and also what else i have to buy to make my sound as distorted as possible(pedals ect.) Any suggestions? What do you play with and how is it working for you?

-Thanks in advance
Yes my name is Tom Petty.

GEAR:
Ibanez RG350DX
Dean Razorback D
(crappy)RED Marshall Mg100hdfx Halfstack
Digitech Death Metal Pedal
Well, you should generally look for good quality, I guess. Look at the features and the description of the amp and that should give you a general idea of what sort of things it would be good for.

What kind of music do you play? And how much can you spend?
What kind of style do you play?
What is your budget?
What other gear do you have?
What kind of a tone are you after?
Combo/stack or doesn't matter?
How loud does it need to be, are you gigging?
Where are you from (US, UK, Europe, other?)?
Anything else?
Last edited by Fama at Nov 5, 2007,
budget ranges up to $400 maybe 450. I like to play a little of everything, but i love a metal kinda tone or a sharp(?) solo kinda tone(like van halen stuff) vauge i know. I have some little amp that came with the strat i had a while ago, it's a "johnson,100 power tube" and it sucks. Also i'm new to the amp stuff, so what is good?(stack?, huh) please expain.

-thanks

GEAR:
Ibanez RG350DX
Dean Razorback D
So, versatile, distortion should be good and something suitable for leads. 400/450 dollars, you're US I guess. Do you need enough volume for gigging/band practice?
Yeah i am in the US, and yeah i like to play loud, but not too loud, alos what else can i get, pedals? ect. to get a heavy distorted effect. (someone said something about "Pods"?)

GEAR:
Ibanez RG350DX