I am new to electric guitar and I am thinking of getting a Mexican Strat or a Fender HSS strat. I have played acoustic for a little over a year now so I still consider myself a noob. I just play at home and will never gig or anything like that. I play a lot of chili pepper stuff, and softer rock...the hardest rock i would play would be something like Nirvana. I am not into metal or hard rock like that.

What would you suggest for an amp for home use? I want it to be loud enough, but I dont need to blow the house down with it.

Thanks in advanced!
Vox AD15VT or 30VT depending on how loud you need it.
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.

Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
Quote by stephen_rettie
maybe epi valve junor

would also be worth a look. Or the Harley Benton GA5 (same amp, just with a tone knob)
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.

Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
For a very first guitar amp I would recommend the VOX AD30VT.

For those about to recommend the Epiphone Valve Junior, just remember how much of a one trick pony that is. For someone just starting electric guitar, the more versatile the amp the better.

It's once a guitarist knows exactly what tones they're after that they should look into valve amps. Until then they should be able to fiddle around with a variety of effects and tones so they know what to save up for in the future. Basically threadstarter, I think you should disregard any valve amps such as the Epiphone Valve Junior that I'm sure many will recommend.

just my 2 cents of course though.
what's your budget?
what music are you interested in playing?
do you see yourself jamming or in a band in the next year?

edit: scratch that 2nd question, just re read