I've been playing guitar for about 6 years now and am going to start playing a bit of bass

I've got a simple setup but no bass yet and was just wondering if it is necessary to have a bass amp for bass, can you use a normal amp for bass

If so what difference will it make?

Thanks for the advice
Wear the eye patch Bret, Wear the Funky Funky eye patch...

Quote by Tallman

You, sir, should be knighted.

Last edited by coolo : Today at 00:00 AM. Reason: ???
ok thanks man

Quote by Tallman

Buy a Crate BT15 if money is a big issue. $70 I believe at GC. I just finally upgraded to a 2x10 stack yesterday, but the crate served me well while I was transitioning to bass. Same situation as you. Don't buy anything else in that price range. The rest is crap.
Ibanez SR-500
Schecter C1 Blackjack
Ibanez GSR200
Classical acoustic

G&K Backline 600 + Goldline 210GLX cab
Vox AD30VT
Crate G40C XL
Crate BT15
EH Metal Muff
Digitech Grunge
Danelectro Fab Overdrive
M-Audio Ozonic
Tascam M-308
ok

i was just wondering because I'm going to get a squire p bass starter pack and was wondering whether to get the pack or just the guitar

thanks for your help

Quote by Tallman

Quote by coolo

I've got a simple setup but no bass yet and was just wondering if it is necessary to have a bass amp for bass, can you use a normal amp for bass
Thanks for the advice

bass amps are "normal" for bass players.
guitar amps are not made to handle the frequencies of a bass. your little Frontman will last about 10 seconds, after you try plugging in a bass. now, run for your life.
'cause here they come! just a little pointer, read the exsisting threads(first 4 pages),
use the search window, and don't use the term normal, as it is relative, to your singular point of view.
Quote by 83lespaulstudio
bass amps are "normal" for bass players.
guitar amps are not made to handle the frequencies of a bass. your little Frontman will last about 10 seconds, after you try plugging in a bass. now, run for your life.